Bloodsport 25th anniversary today

Posted: February 26, 2013 in Did you know...
Tags: , , , ,

jean-claude-van-damme-sarah-ball

 

 

 

 

25 years ago today, the martial arts cult classic ‘Bloodsport’ was released, introducing Jean-Claude Van Damme on the big screen. I know what your thinking: so what? Why would he want to bring that up? Well now, not only is J.C. a fellow countryman, I also live in his hometown, near Brussels. So no, I can’t just let it pass. 🙂 Besides, some of you might find it hard to admit, but were you not mesmerized, back in the day, when you saw J.C. do his famous split for the first time? Or when he slammed a few teeth out of some bad guy’s jaw with his jump spinning heel-kick? You know you where, at some point in our boyhood, we all wanted to be like Jean-Claude. Luckily, for most of us, it passed. I know J.C. still considers this film his baby, and although he’s getting a part of his hip replaced at a hospital in Belgium this week,  I still bet today’s a pretty a special day for him.

Comments
  1. Such a great film,as you mentioned everybody wanted to me JC when they were 10 years old,have to admit I struggled with the splits back then,I think I would need my hip replacing if I tried now.
    The only naff side to this movie is the fact that Frank Dux was a bullshi*t artist,I remember reading that most of his story was made up with regards to belts he won and crazy championships he attended,all the same this movie stands the test of time,I don’t care if my wife gives me funny looks when I watch it….:)

  2. Heard that about Frank Dux too, but doesn’t make this movie any less of a bit of childhood magic 🙂

Leave a Reply

